Kim Johnson – Michigan Bagpiper for all occasions.

This month I feature the musings of an associate piper from Michigan.

I walk into a room filled with complete strangers.
This is either one of the happiest days of their lives, or one of the saddest. 

Sometimes I’ll hear a family shout out to me; “YAY!! The piper’s here!!”. 

I am in a very unique situation, I’ve been hired to add something very special, and to help create a wonderful memory for their event.

Interestingly enough- whether it’s a happy occasions like a wedding or party, or a sad event like a funeral or burial…. the family is always glad to see me!

Sometimes a family member will greet me and hug me with joy; and with a catch in their voice they’ll share with me how important and meaningful it is that I’m there to play. I’ve heard some wonderful stories!

Most of the time I’ve already spoken with the family about which tunes they’d like, and when.

Funerals are usually the same format- 1 tune in and 1 tune out. Usually “Amazing Grace” at the end. But there’s still a personal touch I can add somewhere.

I’ve become a very good listener and observer.

Did I hear one of the grooms men or the Father of the bride mention U of M? I’ll throw in “Hail To The Victors” as all the guests are leaving! FUN! Or “Star Wars”! They love it! It’s someone’s birthday? I’ll throw in “Happy Birthday”! Did someone say they love Outlander? I’ll play the theme song! 

Did the family mention that their loved one was Irish? Did I see Irish items around the church? I’ll play “When Irish Eyes are Smiling” as I walk behind the coach as it leaves the parking lot.

Families love it. Is the family very much into their Scottish heritage? “Scotland the Brave” would be perfect, somewhere. Or maybe I’ll add in a special tune as I’m playing outside as everyone goes to their cars.

Looking around a room, a folded flag will alert me that the deceased was in the military.

I check and see which branch- there’s always a military tune I can play outside after “Amazing Grace”. At the conclusion of the service I’ll walk off, piping, so the sound carries through the cemetery. And I fade away, leaving the family to their own private moments. 

There’s also a sensitivity to knowing when, and when not to play. Silence during a special moment can have quite an emotional impact. 
It’s the little personal things that add so much to an occasion. It’s more than just playing good music on well tuned pipes.

It’s these personal touches and playing LOTS of tunes at an event, that have separated me from the the male pipers in the area, and one of the many reasons why funeral directors call me first.

Kim Johnson

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started