St. Patricks Day

Decades ago I would play in pipe bands during the yearly Baltimore’s St. Patricks Day Parade. Then rasing a family and work limited my activity in those wonderful bands. To keep my skills fresh and continue to perform for others I started to play the pipe in bars and restaurants.

Prior to the day I would arrange with the owners of said establishments to perform a “walk through”. This consisted of myself showing up in full kilt, unexpectedly for the patrons and “walk through” the establishment.

This is what I walked into!

Well, there is no volume control on the Highland Bagpipe and once brought into action I was met all around by smiles. Pints were hoisted in the air and everyone was Irish for the day. Walking through the pub, and playing all the tunes heard on that happy day is a wonderful event for everyone.

I remember the owner of a bar/restaurant who stands out to me, all these years later. Smiling, and with tears in his eyes he said “I am Greek, I am from Greece- your music touches my heart and I dont know why!!!”

Those years I was paid with the joy I helped bring to others, and ALOT of free corned beef and cabbage.

Funeral & Memorial Bagpiper
Wayne Francis
410-591-2322
bagpiperofbaltimore@gmail.com
http://bagpiperofbaltimore.com/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started