When Should the Piper Play?

There is great flexibility depending on the desires of the family.  The following provides some suggestions based on the location.

At a Church or Memorial Hall

Before the Service

The bagpipe can be used very effectively as mourners arrive to create an air of solemnity and reflection,                                                                                            Additionally, I can meet a hearse, if appropriate and start the processional of the service and lead the pall-bearers and casket to the front door.

At the end of the Service

If a casket is present, I can again lead the pall-bearers and casket back out to to the waiting hearse, and continue playing as the casket is being loaded.  If there is no casket, or if the family desires this instead, the piper can play near the door as the mourners leave. 

Playing At the Cemetery

Before the Service Begins

As the hearse arrives I start playing so that as the family arrives they hear my bagpipe. I then stand at attention, until clergy arrives. I speak with clergy and your attendant about where and when I will play. As the pall-bearers take the casket from the hearse. I lead the procession to the grave site, playing a tune.

At the completion of the Service

When the clergy has concluded the service, I play “Amazing Grace” through once and slowly walk away into the distance. The music will follow me and this is the appropriate time for final family announcements by a funeral attendant.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started