Rock god, bagpiper – Wayne Francis

Slash live tijdens Pinkpop, Landgraaf 30-5-2010

As a boy growing up in the late 60’s, every American kid wanted to play the guitar. Just like our heroes the Beatles. We would hold our badminton racquets like John, Paul and George and mouth out the words to “I want to hold your hand”.I have purchased and owned many guitars through the years, and yes I could pick some sweet licks and play chords. However, it was not fluid or natural for me. Something is wrong with this whole guitar and Wayne scene. I remember walking by a couple of my guitars on their stands- and I think they were mocking me. Just like twelve year olds playing little league baseball, “he cant play, he cant play”.Once, I expressed my frustration to a work associate who was himself a very good guitarist. His response put things into some perspective that I could grasp. He said “you play a guitar with your mind, and a wind instrument is one that you play with your soul”.I remember hearing a Benedictine monk talk about meditation this way, “meditate as you can- not as you cant”. For whatever reason playing the Scottish bagpipe, the Irish Uilleann bagpipe and the Irish whistle- clicked.Finally I accepted the fact that in this realm of human experience, there are some things that for me are more natural than others.Wayne Francishttps://bagpiperofbaltimore.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started